Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin Biscuits

Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin Biscuits  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

I love breakfast foods. The eggs, the bacon, the sweet carbs, the fried potatoes/latkes/hashbrowns, the smoothies… hmmm… I try not to make these things too often, but every once in awhile, one needs some of that. So after a lazy Saturday morning of sleeping in and some morning cartoons, we had brunch.

My mom gave me a recipe for Sweet Cinnamon Biscuits that we like. It’s a great recipe when I’m too lazy or don’t have enough time to make yeast cinnamon rolls, but I’m wanting some swirled cinnamon goodness. I had some pumpkin in my fridge leftover from another recipe, so I thought to myself this morning, “Self, I think a little pumpkin in that Sweet Cinnamon Biscuits recipe would be in order for brunch.” So here’s what I came up with…

Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin Biscuits

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 3 Tblsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. cloves
  • 1/2 c. pumpkin (heaping)
  • 3/4 c. buttermilk (scant)
  • 4 Tblsp. butter, softened
  • 1/4 c. granulated sugar (heaping)
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar (scant)
  • cinnamon (to taste)
  • a little cream cheese frosting for drizzling

Combine flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, ginger and cloves in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the heaping 1/2 cup of pumpkin and the scant 3/4 cup of buttermilk. I never have buttermilk on hand, so I either use a powdered, cultured buttermilk blend (found in the baking aisle) mixed up according to directions or I just add a small amount of lemon juice to some milk and use that in place of buttermilk. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the pumpkin and milk mixture. Mix just until combined.

Next, tear off a large sheet of waxed paper and place on counter top. (not necessary, but helps with the mess) Generously flour the waxed paper. The biscuit dough is very sticky, so carefully work in a little flour and form the dough into a workable ball. This is where the waxed paper comes in handy – I use it to help me make the dough more workable. Then, like making cinnamon rolls, roll/push it out till you have a large rectangle. Just eye the size, but make sure it’s not too thin. Then spread the softened butter all over the dough. Next sprinkle your sugars over it. I don’t usually measure the sugars, so I just put a suggested amount, just put the amount you want. Sprinkle just a little fine sea salt over it. Follow that up with your preferred amount of cinnamon. As you can see, I’m not shy when it comes to cinnamon! Roll the whole thing up like cinnamon rolls. Cut it into about 8-10 rolls. I use kitchen shears instead of a knife – less smashing goes on.

Place them in a greased 9 in. cake pan or a pie plate. I usually sprinkle the rolls with the leftover cinnamon and sugar from the waxed paper. Bake them at 400 F for about 15-20 minutes.

I bake mine in our toaster oven, or what Norah calls, the baby oven. I have a Breville. You can take a better look at it here. I love not having to heat up my regular oven when I’m baking smaller items. If you do bake it in a toaster oven, just lower the baking temp to 375-380 F. It is better to over-bake these a bit, than to under-bake them. I like using a glass pie plate so I can check on the done-ness a bit easier.

Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin Biscuits  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

Drizzle with a little, or a lot, of cream cheese frosting. They are not award-winning, but they are pretty tasty. You may want to play with the recipe to suit your tastes.

And you may need just a little more cream cheese frosting!

3 thoughts on “Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin Biscuits

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

