Pumpkin Quick Bread

Pumpkin Quick Bread   /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

Norah needed a little treat to take to her Sunday School teachers, so we thought we would make them some pumpkin bread. This is a recipe that my mother-in-law gave me. Mr. H loves and requests this recipe during the fall and winter months. He always thinks the bread is healthy because of the pumpkin, and I always tell him he is sadly mistaken.

Mom H’s Pumpkin Quick Bread

  • 3 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 c. oil
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 lb. canned pumpkin (I use Libby’s brand pumpkin – comes in a 15 oz. can)
  • 3 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 c. water
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1 tsp. each of cinnamon, allspice*, nutmeg

I didn’t have allspice, so I just substituted with 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. of cloves. Also, I left out the nutmeg, as we’re not big fans of that spice.

I added a streusel topping, but it is completely optional

  • 5 Tblsp. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 Tblsp. butter, melted

Pumpkin Quick Bread   /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her FamilyPreheat your oven to 350F. Combine sugar, oil, eggs, and pumpkin in a large bowl. Stir/mix until completely combined.

Pumpkin Quick Bread   /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her FamilyIn a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and spices. Carefully add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture, then add the water. Stir with a spatula, just until combined.

Pumpkin Quick Bread   /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her FamilyPour into greased pans. I used 5 mini loaf pans, or you can also use 2 regular-sized loaf pans.

For the streusel topping, combine the flour, sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Add the butter and mix until it forms small crumbs. Sprinkle over the loaves.

Bake for 1 hr. if you are making the 2 regular-sized loaves, less for the minis. Sorry, I totally forgot to note how long I baked the minis. Maybe set your timer for 30 min. and check in 5 min. intervals if they are not done. You want to be able to pull a toothpick out of the center and have it come out cleanly.

Pumpkin Quick Bread   /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her FamilyThe texture is very fine and moist.

To quote Norah, “This is the goodest bread I ever taste!”

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Quick Bread

  1. I made this for family members as part of our Christmas gift exchange and the requests for more keep coming! Thanks for sharing this perfect recipe.

  2. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesday |

  3. This recipe looks marvelous – however I have 2 ripe avocados, so I am am making this right now using the avocados instead of the eggs & oil. I am making the 5 mini loaves and they have been in 30 minutes; just set the timer for another 5. πŸ™‚ I’m super excited to see how they turn out!!! πŸ™‚

  4. This IS my go to recipe for pumpkin bread. The crumb topping is the best. I’ve made it for coworkers and they couldn’t stop talking about it.
    Just one question though. What is the best way to store this? I don’t want it to go stale and I don’t want it to get mooshy from sitting in an air tight ziplock bag.

    • So glad that you like it. It is pretty yummy! πŸ™‚ The only solution to avoiding soggy crumb topping is to eat both loaves immediately. Gather your family or a group of friends and just attack both loaves, leaving not a crumb! Or you can do this solo, but you might regret it. πŸ™‚ Sorry – if you leave out a loaf to indoor elements, it will get stale. If you seal it up, the crumb topping will get soggy and mushy. Unfortunately the moisture in the bread permeates the crumb topping and removes the crunch it has when it’s fresh from the oven. So go ahead and eat it all – sometimes we just have to make sacrifices! πŸ™‚

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

