The Great Pumpkin Cinnamon Swirl Bread

It’s that time of year when it gets pretty pumpkin-y around our home. Cans of pumpkin from the baking aisle seem to hop into my cart on each visit to the grocer. So with precariously stacked cans of pumpkin teetering in the pantry, I must find ways to use this fiber-filled squash fruit.

Hmmmm….I thought one morning. Maybe I could make some pumpkin yeast bread and roll it up into cinnamon bread…now that sounds tasty. I also knew some cream cheese frosting could come into play.

This idea spun off the fact that as much as I enjoy a plump cinnamon roll, I think I equally, if not more, savor cinnamon bread toasted, and slathered with cream cheese frosting. This way, I reap the added benefit of craggy, toasty texture.

Thinking I had better play this safe, I looked for a pumpkin yeast recipe. I found the perfect base recipe on a blog I love – The Girl Who Ate Everything – a woman after my own food-loving heart. Here’s the recipe I followed, but changed ever so slightly, for the dough. Then I just continued with the typical procedure I use for cinnamon bread. I like the dough, it’s dense and chewy.

So here’s what I came up with…

The Great Pumpkin Cinnamon Swirl Yeast Bread

The Great Pumpkin Cinnamon Swirl Bread

  • 4 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/4 c milk, warm
  • 5 1/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/3 c brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 c butter, softned
  • 1 3/4 c pumpkin puree, or a 15 oz can of pumpkin puree (not the one with spices in it)

For the filling you will need:

  • about 2 Tblsp of softened butter
  • some cinnamon
  • some granulated sugar, plus some brown sugar, if you wish

I used my bread machine to mix, knead and raise the bread, so if you have a bread machine you can just refer to my basic bread post. If you do not own a bread machine, you can use the following directions.

Combine the warm milk and the yeast in the bowl of your stand mixer. Place a clean dish towel over the bowl and let it sit for at least 5 minutes.

In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, ginger, cloves, brown sugar and salt. In another bowl, lightly beat the eggs, add the soft butter and the pumpkin, stir until combined.

Alternately add the flour mixture and the pumpkin mixture to your stand mixer bowl with the milk/yeast. Mix after each addition, until combined.

Using the dough hook, allow your machine to knead the dough until it is smooth and still somewhat sticky (about 5 minutes). Transfer the dough to an oiled bowl, cover with the dish towel again, or some plastic wrap. Set in a warm place until the dough has doubled in size. (If you are using a bread machine, you do not need to do this step – the bread machine will complete the first rise.)

When the dough has risen, transfer to floured counter top.

Evenly divide the dough into two. Working with one ball of dough, knead it a bit, then roll it out (sometimes a rolling pin is helpful) into a rectangle. Spread with just a bit of butter  and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon and sugar.

Starting with one of the shorter ends, roll it up and place it seam side down into a greased loaf pan. Repeat with the other ball of dough.

Turn your oven to 350F and place the filled loaf pans on top of or near the oven and cover the pans with a towel or plastic wrap. Wait. About 1/2 hr – 1 hr, or until the loaves has risen enough to dome slightly above the pan level.

Bake at 350F for about 25 minutes or until golden brown, and when tapped on the top, sound hollow. It’s better to over-bake this a bit, than under-bake it. Turn immediately onto wire racks to cool. Lightly butter tops of bread.

Enjoy toasted, not toasted, with butter or cream cheese frosting. Whatever way you prefer – you won’t go wrong.

Mr. H is not shy with the cream cheese frosting

The Great Pumpkin Cinnamon Swirl Yeast Bread

Yes, my mouth is that large

Garrett enjoys some bread

and some frosting

3 thoughts on “The Great Pumpkin Cinnamon Swirl Bread

  1. Love this Abby!Great job! Do you do all the photos, too? I didn’t know you did a food blog. So does my daughter Bethany Grace. She is Bethany Reid (South Africa)and does a blog called ‘Community Eats’ which is a mix of family, food, mission and nutrition ideas. I will be trying the recipe this week for sure! Thanks! I was really wonderful to see you at Thanksgiving! Aunt Tessa

    • Thanks, Aunt Tessa! It was great to see you, Uncle John and Ben too at Thanksgiving. This here blog of mine is not entirely a food blog, I’m not talented enough in the kitchen to pull that off, but I like to share a recipe here and there.
      I checked out Bethany’s blog – wow! They lead anything but an ordinary life! Good for them. Thanks for sharing the blog, I’m enjoying it.
      Hope to see you again soon.

  2. Just in the middle of baking this bread again. I decided I needed to write the recipe down and must call it $1000 Bread(with the subtitle Pumpkin Swirl Bread of course!)-the name Uncle John gave it after the wreck I had when I went out to get the extra flour I needed to finish it the first time. The insurance company paid for the damages to our car and the other one, of course, but the deductible was $1000. I used 3 cups whole wheat flour and 2 cups white bread flour. Love it! Thanks again and Merry Christmas! Aunt Tessa

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

