Thanksgiving 2012

Enter into His gates with thanksgiving, and into His courts with praise! Be thankful unto Him and bless His name. Psalm 100:4

I have so much to be thankful for; I wouldn’t even know where to begin. The Lord has blessed me far beyond what I deserve. But yet I know I take so much for granted. I read a quote the other day, and unfortunately, I cannot figure out where it originated or to whom credit belongs, but here’s what I read…

What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?

I need to work on being more thankful.

I want my children to grow up with a heart of gratitude.

I want to be their example.

Last Sunday, Norah brought home a paper from Sunday school that she had run out of time to complete. On the coloring page, a turkey stood next to the sentence, “Count your blessings, name them one by one!” After Norah turned Mr. Turkey into one colorful bird, I suggested we complete it by filling out the four numbered spots by listing blessings. I explained it all, and waited, pencil in hand to write down what filled her little heart with thanks.

“Hmmm..’ she said as she looked around the room. After spotting Garrett playing in the living room, she said, ‘I’m thankful for Gegot.” How my heart swelled with pride as I wrote Garrett’s name after the number one. What a glory moment. Sibling love. We were off to a great start. Okay, ready for number two spot to fill in.

“Me!” she proclaimed.

“You mean, you’re thankful for yourself?”

“Yes!”

Okay, well, that was a short lived glory moment. N-o-r-a-h was written in the second spot of what she considered to be her blessings. “Flowers” claimed the third spot and “the new coloring book from Wawa B” rounded out the short list. Oh, my four year old daughter. That list of blessings is going in the memory box.

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I know I am not alone in this choice. Besides the tempting aromas wafting out of a kitchen where my mother labored on our feast, my favorite childhood memory, and the one I associate the most with Thanksgiving, is all of the kitchen windows steamed up – little droplets sometimes making stripes down the glass. Often someone would unlatch a window and push it up a bit to allow the cool autumn air into the hot kitchen. I don’t know why that is so distinct in my mind. Weird. I know. But there was something comforting and maybe anticipatory about those steamed up windows. Family would be coming over, food would be heaped up on plates, and there would be no quiet moments till the last family had bundled up and headed to their home.

This year again, Mr. H worked, so we had our own little family Thanksgiving lunch. Nothing fancy, just a few basic Thanksgiving foods.

The top people on my Thankful List.

Norah with her prized turkey leg.

Garrett the mashed potato and gravy king. The trick is using a fork and a spoon simultaneously.

Yesterday Norah helped me make our pumpkin pie. Her plan is to grow up to be a princess and a cooker.

After Mr. H headed off to work, the kids and I drove to my mom’s where most of the family had gathered. Lots of fun cousin time for the kids. And even though we missed the main meal, we made it for pie time. My sister Laurie goes crazy making pies, but we don’t complain.

Don’t come between a man and his pie!

We had a wonderful time together. I am so thankful for my family.

After a full day, with lots of food and tons of fun, this was my view when I turned around after parking in the garage when we arrived home.

Hope your Thanksgiving was just has happy.

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2012

  1. I remember having Thanksgiving with your family, and Laurie brought a blueberry cream pie from Taste of Home. It was amazing. I STILL make that pie, but it never tastes as good as hers did.

  2. Looks like Norah is thrilled to be “Mommy’s Little Helper” in the kitchen! Your Thanksgiving dinner looks delicious. Great pictures of the family!

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

