Digging out of a rut with Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili

I’ve been in a cooking rut lately.

Ever find yourself in those, when you don’t know what to make, so you make the same things over and over again using those tested and tried meals that you don’t even need to look at the recipe? Or there is no recipe. You just make it up.

I would like to blame this rut on Mr. H’s schedule since on the days he works, we eat our main meal at lunch. I’m not crazy about eating breakfast at 9am while thinking about raw meat, and what I’m going to do with it for lunch. But obviously, I should have thought about that raw meat the night before, so really it comes down to poor planning. This is really strange because I’m always the girl with a plan, and a plan for everyone around me. Sometimes this tests Mr. H’s patience. Just ask him about it. No, on second thought, please don’t ask him about it.

To remedy this poor planning, I need to make a monthly menu, or at the very least a weekly menu. But for some reason, the thought of doing that makes me feel really tired and overwhelmed. Of course, I would actually feel the reverse if I would do it. I am going to start on that, after I think about it a little longer.

The other reason I’m in a rut – I obviously need to branch out and try some new recipes.

New recipes worry Mr. H.

I like just about anything. Mr. H, not so much. He is a meat and potatoes kind of guy. This is great though because he never seems to tire of the limited rotating repertoire of mine. But with trying new recipes, he is especially worried about the vegetables that he might meet at the table. He has a small group that are acceptable.

My not trying new recipes is not for lack of available resources. I read cookbooks like most people read novels. And Pinterest is a goldmine. I get all inspired, but then stick to the usual fare. And it’s not because I don’t enjoy cooking, or cooking something new – it’s because, trying new recipes means writing down specific food items on the grocery list and looking for specific food items in the grocery store while trying to wrangle two specific young children. My usual mode of operation is racing down the aisles and throwing in the basics.

Well, that’s enough of that.

To the main point of this post.

I found this recipe for Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili a while back on Pinterest and am finally getting around to trying it. That’s another thing I need to work on – trying the ideas I’ve pinned.

Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili

So anyway, this looked good. And I actually had everything I needed to make this!

Go ahead, call me a wimp. I can take it. I can hear you saying, “Whoa! Chili with chicken in it. Way to go on really busting out and trying something on the wild side!”

In my defense, this is new to our family. Plus, I’ll just send Norah and Garrett with you next time you grocery shop. πŸ™‚

This turned out pretty tasty. Nothing earth-shattering – it’s about what you would imagine it would taste like. But we liked it. And, I’m all for chili – it gives me a plausible excuse to eat copious amounts of sour cream.

This is were I found the recipe. Check out her pictures – they are much better than mine!

Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili

Crockpot Chicken Taco Chilli

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1Β  16 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1Β  16 oz. can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1Β  15 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 10 oz. pkg. frozen corn (or a heaping cup of frozen or canned corn)
  • 2Β  14.5 oz. cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1 packet taco seasoning (I only had a bulk container of taco seasoning, so I threw in 2 Tblsp of taco seasoning)
  • 1 Tblsp cumin
  • 1 Tblsp chili powder
  • 24 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 3)

In a crockpot, add all of the ingredients, excluding the chicken. Stir to combine. Place chicken on top and cover crockpot with lid. Cook on low for 10 hrs. or on high for 6 hrs. In the last half hour of cook time, remove chicken, shred it, put it back in crockpot and stir. Garnish with cilantro, avocados, cheese, sour cream, whatever your little heart wishes. Norah and I like corn chips crushed on ours.

Some things to note: Mr. H is not fond of onion, green chilies or tomato chunks, so I put those ingredients, plus a lone roma tomato that was lying on my counter :), in my Magic Bullet and pulsed till smooth. Also, when I make this again, I think I will add the corn when I put the shredded chicken in at the end. All that time made it a bit tough, and you really only need to get it warmed. I also felt that 10 hrs on low was a bit long for the chicken. So I might adjust the time when I make it again. Maybe 8 hrs on low, 4 hrs on high. But if you try one of these suggested cook times and get food poisoning, I won’t be held responsible. πŸ™‚ Also, I think I might have wanted it a bit more spicy, but you can just adjust that to your preference. I just didn’t want it too spicy for the kids. All in all though, it was a good recipe and convenient if you are going to be gone for the day. We stay up really late every night (love that second-shift!) so I put it all in the crockpot before we went to bed, and we ate it for lunch the next day. I think this would be a good option for church fellowships too. Hope you enjoy it.

Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili

2 thoughts on “Digging out of a rut with Crockpot Chicken Taco Chili

  1. This is great!!! I am GOING to try this!!! –I am like you in how I pin toooOOOnnnss of recipes and don’t use them very much. πŸ˜› I made a new board of things I have pinned and tried…this will be the next thing that I pin on that board. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to try this. πŸ™‚

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

