An Unfinished Craft…or two, or three, or four…

Probably a dozen times a day, I say the word finish.

Finish that game before you get another one out. Finish what’s on your plate before taking anything else. Finish cleaning your bedroom. Finish your glass of water before you have some juice. I have to finish the dishes first. Finish the jobs I gave you before you play. We need to finish school first. Are you going to finish any more of these projects on the list I gave you? Finish, finish, finish.

I need to start saying that word to myself when it comes to crafting. It would seem that I have a propensity to start a project before I finishing the previous one.

The mother of them all is the quilt I started about 10-12 years ago.

It was my first quilting attempt. What a ridiculous one to start with, but I like to aim high.

So anyway, it started off that I planned on making the quilt king-size. Then after a couple of years, I thought, “Oh, a queen-size would be fine.” A few more years passed, and I was all like, “I think a twin-size would be perfect.” Now, I’m thinking a table runner is the most realistic size. Every time I look at it, I think, “I really should work on this”, but then I feel all weak. But this is what really gets me – even when it’s all sewed together, I have to quilt that puppy. “Ain’t nobody got time for that!”

Over the years, I have made several baby quilts for friends and family, so that left me extra fabric squares and a plan to make a couple more baby quilts.

So first I started this one.

Then I started this one.

Then I went on to this one.

None of them have gotten any farther.

Then there was the baby blanket I was going to crochet to have on hand for a gift.

Oh, and I guess there was another pink one I started.

Then there was the granny square blanket I was going to make.

And, oh, yes, let’s not forget the dish cloths my mom taught me to make. Obviously, I had big plans.

Then this past December I thought, oh, I need to make a tree skirt for our Christmas tree. So I got myself some red yarn (looks better in person) and some gigantic knitting needles and took off. Kind of.

I took this picture today. Needless to say, our tree was a bit immodest this past Christmas.

Then there were the felt dolls I was going to make Norah. I thought she might enjoy quietly playing with them Sunday nights in church, but these poor girls still do not have any clothes. Lots of immodesty issues around here.

Then there was the quilt I started a year ago for Norah.

I am super excited to report that, this past week I pulled it out again and managed to sew together the last half of the blocks I needed. I had started to sew on the final border when I realized…

I want to make a little bag for Garrett for his diapers and essentials for church!

I am sooooo easily sidetracked. But then, you may already have gathered that subtle trait about me.

The weather was bad so I didn’t want to run out to the fabric store, so I looked through my fabric stash and found some canvas from a project that I had never even started. Ha. Imagine that. See, it can be worse. At least I started the other projects.

And… Viola Voila! I finished one project!  *modest blush*

I know there are more unfinished projects lurking around in my craft closet, but I stopped looking. A girl can handle only so much shame.

And, Mom, if you are reading this – Please do not teach me anything else, or help me start a new project unless I can prove every thing else is completed! Well, all except the hexagon quilt. I think I’ll still be working on that in the nursing home.

So how are your craft projects coming along?

9 thoughts on “An Unfinished Craft…or two, or three, or four…

  1. Haha! I love starting projects as well, and never finish most of them because I easily get bored and distracted! I tried to make a necklace once, and it turned into a bracelet, ‘cos it’s shorter. Haha! All your projects are really nice and creative! Congratulations on finishing a project! 🙂

  2. Every night, katie sleeps under the purple baby quilt you FINISHED for her:-) And, not to be a stickler or anything, but I do believe you mean “Voila” 🙂 But you COULD be meaning the musical instrument… 🙂

    • Oh, that’s so nice to hear that Katie is still using her quilt.
      And as to my accidental musical instrument reference – Thank you, thank you, thank you! I couldn’t stop laughing. I think I better have you check future posts for me! Yeah, I meant “Voila” – I think I’ll do a little editing!

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

