Molasses Cookies on a Dreary Day

Soft, Chewy Molasses Cookies

As Mr. H had neatly tucked away an entire peach pie in the course of three days, more dessert was needed around this house. I had found a recipe for frosted peanut butter cookies that looked like they would fit the bill for him, but after re-reading the recipe a bit more closely, I discovered that when it was all said and done, or rather mixed and baked, a full pound of butter would be used for 4 dozen frosted cookies. I could not justify that. At least, not today.

So then I called my mom late afternoon to see what she was up to. Baking cookies, she said. I guess there was some kind of cookie vibe going on today. Molasses cookies were baking in her oven.

Yes, yes, so they should be baking in mine too.

She was right. It was a molasses cookie kind of day – cold and misty with some snow flurries here and there (GIVE UP, WINTER!). A little scent of molasses and spices would be a welcome comfort.

DSC08890

So I asked a little purple-eared bunny to help me whip up a batch. I typically use a different recipe, but today I felt like these. I am glad I chose them. They were delicious. I found this recipe quite some time ago in a cookbook that I checked out from our library – Where Women Cook: Celebrate!

Soft, Chewy Molasses Cookies

Sugared Molasses Crinkles

  • 2 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper (we only used 1/4 tsp. because black pepper in cookies made Norah really nervous) 🙂
  • 1 c. dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. sugar, plus a bit more for rolling cookies in
  • 1/2 c. butter, softened (1 stick)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 c. molasses

Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, cloves and black pepper in a medium bowl. Mix well. Cream butter and sugars. Add eggs. Mix well. Add molasses. Mix well. Add the flour mixture. Mix till combined. Roll 1 inch balls in sugar. Bake at 350 degrees F. for 12- 15 minutes. If you slightly under-bake them, they will be soft and chewy. If you slightly over-bake them, they will be more like gingersnaps. I baked mine for about 12-13 minutes. Yielded about 3 dozen for me.

And, yes, Norah was eating a lollipop while making these. I’m not proud of that.

And by the way, you don’t need to flatten the cookies before baking them, as they flatten out after they have cooled. I’m thinking next time of making them a bit smaller, making some cream cheese frosting and turning them into sandwich cookies. Mmm…

After Garrett’s nap,… (he wakes up very slowly – although the word “cookie” did spur him to full wakefullness)

DSC08915

…we sat ourselves down at 5pm and each had 2 cookies before supper. I’m just an awesome mom that way. Plus, you have to eat some when they’re warm!

Garrett wanted more, but after I told him that was enough, Norah followed up with…

Geegot, you can’t have any more. If you eat more, you will get a bellyache and have to go to the hosdible and the doctor will give you a shot!

So word to the wise – enjoy these in moderation or you might end up getting a shot!

3 thoughts on “Molasses Cookies on a Dreary Day

  1. My goodness!! I was thinking about molasses cookies today! I should try this recipe! 🙂 Were these pretty soft? Or were they more crunchy and crisp?

  2. Lovely! 🙂 My favorite pic is Geegot waking up on the couch with a little grin. So cute. I think these would be good half-dipped in white chocolate…..? 🙂 You made them that way one year for Christmas, and I remember as being fabulous. Miss you!

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

