DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art

So here’s the lowdown on the canvas fabric wall art Mr. H and I made for our bathroom.

DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

As you know from a previous post, Mr. H painted our bathroom and upgraded us from cream to brown! Woo-hoo! It’s been life-changing. But seriously, I do really like it. But with all of the brown, I knew I was going to need something really bright and cheery on the back wall. In the meantime, I bought this canvas wall art at Marshall’s for our bedroom.

love pic 1

I love it. Very popular these canvas wall art pieces. So I was thinking something similar would work in the bathroom. Multiple stores later, I either couldn’t find what I wanted, or the price tag was too high. Plus, I needed three of whatever I found.

Then one night it came to me. I’ll make my own – only using canvas fabric. I have a love affair with fabric. Although it is tempered since don’t get to Joann or Hobby Lobby very often. But when I do, I love looking at and feeling the fabric. My mother-in-law has the same fabric love. So it seemed perfect – I would have Mr. H make me three square wooden frames, I would buy some canvas fabric, we would wrap it over the frame, staple it, and hang it – Ta-da – wall art!

I was even more excited when I walked into Joann’s and discovered that the canvas was on sale – Yes. (Kip-style from Napoleon Dynamite) I bought outdoor canvas, as I was a bit worried about the humidity levels in the bathroom. I don’t know if this was necessary, but an extra precaution. I also wanted to find three coordinating fabrics, but I couldn’t find three that looked good together, so upon the suggestion of a helpful Joann’s employee, I just used the same fabric and centered different flowers. I am happy with how they turned out. These are fun, fast and easy to make.

Here’s how we did it.

DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

Determine the size of frames you will need and either make them, or have someone who is handy build them. Mr. H used some scrap oak plywood he had in his shop and just nailed them together. He said (I know nothing about wood!) you could also use any 1×2 lumber. I also asked Mr. H to make a cross piece – again because of the humidity in the bathroom.

DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

Buy a large enough piece of canvas fabric so you have enough to wrap around and staple to the back of the frame you made. I highly suggest using canvas because you want material that is thick, sturdy, stiff to stretch properly over a frame. I suppose you could use interfacing with something thinner, but I can’t vouch for that.

DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

In my opinion, this is a two-person job, as it is nice to have someone pulling and holding the fabric and another person stapling.

DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

Mr. H used a lot tons of staples. Put one here, and here and here…I kept saying to him. It probably was overkill, but I wanted to make certain the fabric would stay put and be smooth and tight. When we were all done stapling, I used a tack hammer to seat the staples. That was Mr. H’s technical jargon there!

DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

Have fun folding the corners. I don’t have any tips. I just kind of played around with it till I was happy. Then I tried to do fold each corner the same way.

DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

Trim the extra fabric and you are ready to hang them.

DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art  /  The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

So feeling super clever and flush with craft victory, I thought I would just check Pinterest on the off chance that someone else had thought of making these.

Yep.

Like pretty much every one.

Oh, well. Not as clever as I thought. But still accomplished. And a bonus as Mr. H and I made them together. Actually, I’ve been calling him Martha, as in Stewart, and telling his parents and siblings how crafty he is.

He is not amused.

4 thoughts on “DIY Canvas Fabric Wall Art

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

