Triple Chocolate Espresso Peanut Butter Chip Dream Cookies

Yesterday after lunch, Garrett pointed to the kitchen and said, Cookie!

One of the few words he can say. Of course.

But unfortunately, this was how the cookie jar looked.

DSC09473

Just a few lonely, little crumbs. Pretty sad, uh?

So in the afternoon, I set about fixing the problem. I was thinking chocolate, but then when am I not? I also may have been influenced by the unbelievably amazing triple chocolate bundt cake my mother-in-law made the night before. I wish I had taken a picture of it. It was that good. I had the privilege of eating a slice when we were over there Friday night. John and Erica were passing through the area and were stopping for supper, so I was thankful Mr. H had the day off so we could accept the invite.

After flipping through my cookie recipes, I settled on Double Chocolate Dream Cookies – a chocolate cookie recipe that I’ve made multiple times. Beth, a very nice lady with whom I used to work, gave it to me. I am not certain where she got it from, but I like the recipe. Except this time, my propensity to tweak recipes got the better of me. You would think I could leave a recipe alone that carries the word dream in it? Nope. So as if double chocolate wasn’t going to be enough, I tripled it by adding chocolate baking squares. I also thought a little espresso powder and double the vanilla would be nice. And to top it off, I also threw in some peanut butter chips. I’m not much of a chocolate and peanut butter fan, but Mr. H is, so I I did it for him. You can leave them out, or you can sub in some mint chips, white chocolate chunks (yum), coconut and toasted pecans (double yum) or really anything your heart desires.

Sorry for the obnoxiously long recipe name.

Triple Chocolate Espresso Peanut Butter Chip Dream Cookies

  • 2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 c. dutch-processed baking cocoa
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. butter, softened (2 sticks)
  • 1 c. packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 oz. semi-sweet baking chocolate squares (2 squares)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. instant espresso powder
  • 1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 c. peanut butter chips

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees F. Unwrap the chocolate baking squares and put them in a microwave-safe bowl. Pop them in the microwave to melt them. We microwaved them for a minute, stirred them and microwaved them for 30 seconds more. You may need to adjust this, depending on your microwave.

DSC09480

Crack the eggs in a small bowl. Norah is getting really good at this. She only had one tiny egg shell swimming around. Add your espresso powder to the eggs, mix, then set the bowl aside for the espresso to dissolve.

Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.

Cream the butter and sugars.

DSC09501

Add the egg/espresso mixture, vanilla and melted chocolate baking squares. Beat well.

Gradually beat in the flour mixture till combined. By hand, stir in the chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. I never measure – I just throw in a bunch a handfuls. Put in the amount that makes you happy. Word to the wise – do not buy store-brand chocolate or peanut butter chips, unless you like eating flavored wax! I buy a lot of store-brand products, but for some ingredients, it’s not worth the small savings.

DSC09507

Drop by rounded tablespoon onto parchment paper-lined cookie sheets. I popped a few more chips on the top.

Triple Chocolate Espresso Peanut Butter Chip Dream Cookies

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until puffed. Do not over-bake.

Triple Chocolate Espresso Peanut Butter Chip Dream Cookies

Let stand 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely. Yields 3 dozen.

Triple Chocolate Espresso Peanut Butter Chip Dream Cookies

Get ready for some intense chocolate goodness.

Triple Chocolate Espresso Peanut Butter Chip Dream Cookies

Yep, that was my big mouth that took a giant chomp out of that cookie!

Norah gave her efforts a taste and declared the results, Yummy!

Even though Garrett cannot say many words, he does have some phrases he can say. Go figure. He doesn’t really say the words distinctly, but in context, I know what he is saying. He took a bite of his cookie and said,

Mmmm…it good, Momma!

DSC09594 DSC09593 DSC09589 DSC09588

Yeah, that’s better, isn’t it, Garrett.

DSC09581

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

