A Little Bit of Earth

Bless my husband’s heart, he made me a raised garden bed.

DSC_0298

For the past couple of years, I have been wanting “a little bit of earth” to grow some tomatoes and herbs.

My husband had been putting it off, understandably though, in the hopes we could find several acres in the country to buy and move to so we could have the big garden of my dreams.

With all of our searching, we have yet to find anything within our price range that fits our needs, so he finally succumbed to my pleas and made me a small raised garden bed. And a fine one it is too!

DSC_0312

We’re a little late in getting this in, but this is the first chance he’s had time. So he started on it late Sunday afternoon…

…and finished it up Monday, after a few breaks to mow the yard and do some woodworking. And, of course eat and sleep! I let him do that, too. Generous, I know.

DSC_0370

The kids had fun “helping” with the garden project. All that hard work called for a short popsicle break.

DSC_0366

Because it was a raised garden, we had to buy dirt to fill in the frame.

DSC_0372

Buying dirt is kind of a pet peeve of mine. It doesn’t seem like a person should have to buy dirt. Or water. Or air.

DSC_0377

But what are you going to do? Dig a whole in your neighbor’s yard and steal their dirt? Probably not the best idea. So we bought it.

DSC_0365

Norah helped me plant our little baby tomato plants, herbs and one jalapeno pepper plant – just for a kick. And, yes, that is a serving spoon she is using to dig holes. I thought about buying a little shovel purposed for digging holes in box gardens, but as we wouldn’t be using it all that often, a serving utensil seemed more practical. And, if you are ever over for dinner and are scooping some supper onto your plate with said spoon, please rest assured, it has been thoroughly washed.

Ahhhh….yes, that’s the manicure I’ve been wanting for years! (I hope I’m not unwittingly throwing out some kind of gang-sign.)

DSC_0398

We were still short a few herb varieties I hadn’t found at the greenhouse, so this morning, the kids and I trekked over to the local farmer’s market. And when I say local, I mean walking-distance-local. I guess that is one of the perks of living in the city. We took my childhood (translate – old) Red Flyer wagon for the kids’ first spin in it. It’s a fun walk to the farmer’s market because it involves twice going under the train bridge and  crossing the bridge over the river. The train bridge was a bit frightening, as a train was rumbling by overhead, but the bridge over the river was exciting.

We made it home with the required herbs and a few heirloom tomato plants – and some candy, to boot.

DSC_0492

So there she is – my new little garden.

DSC_0493

Now we’ve just got to watch for hungry bunnies.

DSC_0494

Did you plant a garden this year?

3 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Earth

  1. Awesome! It’s adorable! Plus, it’s right out your front door making it handy if you want to throw fresh basil on your spaghetti or whatever. 🙂

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

