A Little Exploring and Norah Conquers Two-Wheeled Transporation

My childhood and early teen years were filled will countless hours of wandering around outside in our country backyard. I loved exploring and making up adventures in my head as I played. I wish the same for my children, but although living in the city has its advantages, it also holds disadvantages, like no explorable backyard. Though not always as convenient as a backyard, we do find ways to do a little bit of exploring and adventure making. Last week we went to the park near our house that is home to the Weeping Willow tree Norah loves. As a kid, I found that type of tree magical. We also found some flowers and berries. These berries God made for birds, not people. I said that multiple times. Frantically, a couple of times.

During their adventures, Norah became an attacking lion. Garrett bought it.

After Norah inspected a little scrape Garrett received during our adventure, we tromped back home.

DSC_1192Mr. H got home from work, we ate a little lunch, then headed back over to the park because Norah had been promised that daddy would teach her to ride her bike sans training wheels. Her training wheels had cracked and broken about a month before, and although I had helped her practice a little around our cul-de-sac, she really needed her dad to help her learn on the paved path at the park. The girl was ready! Mr. H helped balance her a little, she had a few spills, but she got the hang of it really fast and took off – like before they had even gone once around the path. We were both surprised at how quickly she got her balance. Mr. H got some good cardio!

And, yes, we are those kind of parents who buy a helmet, knee pads, elbow pads and, yes, even finger-less gloves.

Way to go, Norah! We’re proud of you.

2 thoughts on “A Little Exploring and Norah Conquers Two-Wheeled Transporation

  1. I remember dad teaching me how to ride a bike w/o training wheels. πŸ™‚ I didn’t get the privilege and protection of knee and elbow pads though. πŸ™‚ I always got pretty scraped up so I probably needed them. πŸ™‚

  2. I remember learning the like it was yesterday – maybe that’s why you never forget how to ride? I laughed out loud at the pictures of Norah as a lion and Garret’s reaction. You get the best pictures of their facial expressions.

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

