Independence Day

A late Happy Independence Day to you and yours!

Hope you had a great time celebrating the blessings of freedom and liberty we enjoy here in America. We need to pray that we remain the free people our founders intended us to be.

Mr. H worked on the 4th, but we made the best of it by grilling for lunch.

DSC_0428

After a tasty lunch, Mr. H headed into work. Mid-afternoon, the kids and I drove over to my mom’s for a family get together. Each family brought their own meat to throw on the grill, and then a dish and a dessert to share. I found this Corn, Avocado and Tomato Salad here. The only things I did differently were to grill my corn and swap the cilantro for parsley from my garden. I’m one of those people who does not care for the taste of cilantro. This salad was super delicious.

DSC_0441

For dessert, Norah and I made brownie stars. I prepared two brownie mixes according to the package and baked them in a 9×13 pan lined with parchment paper. Then I cut out the stars with a cookie cutter; however, if I ever do this again, I’m going to find a star-shaped cookie cutter that isn’t so pointed. It was rather difficult, but halfway through, I started spraying the cookie cutter with cooking spray. This made it a little easier. When the brownies where all cut out, I drizzled melted white chocolate over them, and Norah added the sprinkles. I bought some of those cute paper straws you see everywhere now, and cut them in half and carefully pushed them into the stars. Brownies are always good, especially when they are decked out for the 4th of July.

Not everyone was able to be there for the family get together, but there were 31 of us that could make it. We had a wonderful time together and ate sooo much good food. The cousins had a blast playing together. I even joined in on our annual water fight. That’s one of our much loved traditions. I remember doing it when I was really young. The kids all missed Mr. H – he’s a favorite to douse with a bucket full of cold well water. Norah brought sparklers for her cousins and my brother Craig brought and set off some “ooh” and “ahh”-worthy fireworks.

The kids and I arrived back home around 10:30, and Mr. H was waiting for us with a surprise. He had bought some fireworks too. So we enjoyed our neighbors, along with our own.

How did you celebrate Independence Day?

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

