Let’s Go Fly A Kite

What gorgeous weather we had today! It was mild and breezy – a stark contrast to the the hot and almost unbearably humid weather we’ve been having lately. Definitely a welcome change.

DSC_0814

The kids and I went outside after supper, and Norah suggested a little kite flying might be in order. It wasn’t our first kite flying experience for the year, but with the almost May-like weather, it was a perfect evening for it.

And good old Cinderelly was really flying high tonight. Uhmmm…maybe that didn’t come out right.

DSC_0818

We had a few tangles.

And Garrett was a little more interested in the train that was rumbling by.

DSC_0821

But Norah has almost conquered the art of keeping the kite up in the air.

DSC_0863

I did some kite flying when I was a kid. I remember loving it, and now as an adult, or pretending to be one, it’s very relaxing.

DSC_0847 DSC_0842

And every time, I can’t help but think of the song at the end of the classic movie Mary Poppins when they are all flying kites, including the tuxedo-clad bankers, and singing, appropriately, “Let’s Go Fly a Kite” while Mary Poppins is doing a little personal flying herself, …away that is.

DSC_0841 DSC_0840 DSC_0839

Oddly enough, Mary Poppins is one of Garrett’s favorite movies. He especially likes it when all of the perspective nannies waiting in the street are blown away and then in flies Mary Poppins.

DSC_0851

So when was the last time you flew a kite?

2 thoughts on “Let’s Go Fly A Kite

  1. I have good memories of flying kites in the cornfield with grampa Bob when I was like…four. I remember,he was letting me do it by myself. Somehow, when he wasn’t watching, I accidentally let go of it. We watched as it blew away. He looked down and said to me, “It’s alright–it was old anyway.”
    Sweet memories.

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

