Best Ever Banana Bread

If you have these…

DSC_0835

…then you need to turn them into this.

Best Ever Banana Bread - super-moist / The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

I grew up on this banana bread recipe. And this is the recipe my children will grow up devouring. I may be a bit biased, since this is my Gramma B’s (GG) recipe, but I have tried quite a few recipes, and this one always comes out on top. Now, the recipe is a bit generous with the butter, but it’s totally worth it. This bread will melt. in. your. mouth.

This past January, I found a healthy version on Pinterest, and thought I would give it a go. Aren’t we all thinking healthy thoughts in January? πŸ™‚ It substituted applesauce for butter, honey for sugar, whole wheat flour for all-purpose. We tried it. Yeah, not so much. Norah especially gave it a good try. Half way through her slice, she tentatively whispered, I don’t care for this. Sorry, Mommy. “Yucky” is a no-no word around our house when it comes to food. Although, I think I may have secretly uttered it to Mr. H when we were having a slice. Nothing against the healthy recipe – I’m sure there are tons of people who love it. But not us. We like our butter. And we like a lot of it. This is Norah, at 2 1/2 years, expressing our collective feelings on butter.

So anyway…we’re back to happily munching GG’s recipe. And, yes, it’s bold to call any recipe “best ever” but I’m going to be bold.

Best Ever Banana Bread

  • 3/4 c. butter, softened (1 1/2 sticks – and that’s butter, people, NOT margarine!)
  • 1 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. very ripe bananas (mashed – about 3 large)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c. buttermilk (or sour milk = 1/2 c. milk with 2 tsp. lemon juice)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. If you do not have buttermilk (I never do), then first mix up your sour milk so it can do its thing while you mix everything else up.

DSC_0839

Cream your butter and sugar.

Add your mashed bananas. I usually measure them, but if I’m feeling extra sassy in the kitchen, then I just throw three large bananas right in the mixing bowl. But it’s really best to measure them. Add the two eggs.
Mix until combined.

DSC_0851

Mix the flour, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl. Add the flour mixture alternately with buttermilk (sour milk). Mix by hand just until combined.

Pour into two greased loaf pans.

DSC_0877

Bake at 325 degrees F. for 40-45 minutes. Loaves are done when a toothpick comes out clean.

Just look at all that golden goodness.

DSC_0887

Let loaves rest for 10-15 minutes, then go around the inside edge with a butter knife to loosen the loaves. Turn over on cooling rack. You may want to let them cool a bit longer, but our patience usually runs out pretty quickly. Mmmmmm….

Best Ever Banana Bread - super-moist / The Wonderfully Ordinary Life of Mrs. H and Her Family

And, yes, we do spread a little butter on our slice(s). So I don’t know who I was fooling with that butter-less recipe I tried!

DSC_0933

It makes my little peeps very happy.

DSC_0926

59 thoughts on “Best Ever Banana Bread

  1. I made this recipe tonight to get rid of some overripe bananas, and it was SO GOOD. My husband requested that I make it as muffins instead of bread for the portability factor, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing this one, it’s a keeper!! πŸ™‚

  2. This bread is AMAZING. We ate 2 loaves in a day and I’m making 4 more today. I would love to take one to work, but I’m not sure I like them enough πŸ˜‰
    I’m definitely pinning this one!

  3. Delicious!! I found this recipe yesterday, made two loaves this morning. I have to say, I have tried for many many years to make banana bread with no luck! I made one in a glass pan and one in a metal pan.. Both came out fabulous! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!!

  4. I’m not much of a baker but I have made banana bread before.. it’s in the oven now, but I wanted to say thank you for the sour milk mix. I am always passing up recipes that call for buttermilk and/or sour milk because I honestly didn’t know you could make your own. So happy I’ll have this tip in my back pocket for the future! Silly, I know, but helpful!

  5. By FAR, the BEST banana bread I’ve ever made! My daughter gives it 5 out of 5 stars πŸ˜‰
    P.s..Thanks so much for the sour milk recipe…I agree with Allyson, I’ve passed on many recipes that call for buttermilk.
    Definitely passing on the banana bread recipe to family/friends.
    Thanks!

    • That’s a great question…that I didn’t know the answer to. So instead of making something up :), I decided to do a little googleing! πŸ™‚ From what I found, it does look like you can substitute almond milk for regular milk when souring. I cannot guarantee the results (taste and texture of the bread) will be the same as I have never used almond milk, but if you are familiar with almond milk and like it, then it should probably be fine. If you do, let me know how it turns out.

      • So I made this recipe today, and it turned out really tasty! My husband loves it. I subbed the regular milk with almond milk and replaced the butter with vegan butter. The bread turned out beautifully! Thanks for sharing!

  6. I used 4 tbsp of greek yogurt instead of the buttermilk…I was out of milk, and figured the extra protein was good. You do have to bake for an hour instead of 45 minutes, and I turned up the heat to 350 for the last 20 minutes. It’s VERY moist and delicious!!!! Thanks for the great recipe!

    • Great idea about the greek yogurt – I love subbing it for some of the milk when I make pancakes. I’ve never added it to the banana bread…I might have to give it a try! Thanks!

  7. Made a healthier/lactose and glutten free version of banana bread using this recipe.. Cinnamon applesauce instead of butter, lactose free milk, brown sugar, almond all purpose flour, added an extra banana, added a dash of nutmeg. It was delicious!

    • Sorry I am so late at getting back to you – I’m probably too late. 😦 I have never frozen it, mainly because we have no control! So I cannot guarantee that it would stay moist – I’m almost certain the texture would be affected. Let me know if you did though, and if it worked out for you.

  8. I doubled the recipe and am making two loafs to keep and muffins to take to work. I have the muffins in the oven now. Not sure if they will bake sooner than 40 minutes so I’ll be checking them in 3o minutes. This should be great – of course I tasted the batter, LOL and loved it.

  9. I cut the recipe in half to only make one loaf but did add 2 bananas. This is THE BEST banana bread I’ve ever made or tasted! Great recipe and oh so moist! Love It! Thank you for posting it.

  10. We are big cereal- for- breakfast people, so sweet bread loaves dont seem to get eaten around here. However, when I have bananas that need to be used, i make a dessert by putting the bread batter in a 9×13 pan (and i add some chocolate chips πŸ™‚ ). Then when it is still warm, i frost it with a peanut butter caramel frosting. Yummo!

  11. The recipe calls for 1 1/2 C. of sugar, I substituted 1/2 of that for brown sugar (was short on granulated), it came out delicious! thank you so much for the “best” banana bread I’ve ever had, the family calls it Banana cake, also thanks for teaching me how to make buttermilk. Keep up the “delicious” work.

  12. oh my gosh I love this. I have used it several times but tonight I was trying to mulit task with the toddler and forgot to add the milk… AHHHH im praying I just didnt waste all of it. Ps.. I totally doubled it for xmas gifts

  13. tried it today.with dried cranberries and a very small bit of organic sugar sprinkled on top and it was amazing. I forgot I didn’t have another loaf pan so used a round cake pan and it was perfect. Thank you!!

  14. This is the best banana bread I have made! I added some milk chocolate chips to the one loaf and it disappeared within a few hours!

  15. Loved, Loved, Loved this bread. It was so easy, moist and yummy. My son loved it too. Soo good with cream cheese. Definitely will be my go to banana bread recipe. Thank you for sharing.

  16. Just made this, for about the 5th time since I found the recipe….my husband can’t put it down! I added some brown butter frosting to one loaf to try….very yummy, but also very sweet. Thanks, again!

  17. Before I could even take this out of the oven, stand back and stare at my creation in awe, my boyfriend gobbled up an entire loaf! This is delicious and I will most likely make some every week or so as we both really love banana bread! I layered some thin slivers of banana on top before it went into the oven, which turned into some mighty fine banana add ons! Thank you for sharing and I am so glad I found this recipe!

  18. Great recipe. I will definitely have to try it. Mine is very close but calls for 2 tablespoons of milk (as opposed to buttermilk), Does the buttermilk help it retain moisture longer or is it just for a richer texture?

    • Because this banana bread recipe calls for baking soda, buttermilk or soured milk is preferred over plain milk as both contain acid which activates the baking soda. As to flavor difference, buttermilk has that lovely tang, although I’m not certain how strongly that comes through. Hope this helped! πŸ™‚

  19. I made this for my sister-in-law and her family and they loved it so much that they asked for the recipe and watched me make it. They are returning to Ecuador and plan on making this bread to sell. πŸ™‚

  20. I did it… and never looks the same that you post on it.. very disappointed! !! Maybe you put a extra ingredient. .. but i did the same as you did and my result was different 😒😑

    • I’m sorry, Ana, that it did not turn out as you had hoped. The ingredients listed are exactly as I make it, although with baking, as it is more fickle than cooking, it can appear differently. Exactness of measuring, oven temp. variances, and baking time can affect results. Sometimes for me, it does not always look exactly like the pictures, although it tastes delicious. Hope that it at least tasted good. πŸ™‚

  21. I like to add blueberries/pineapple/peaches/applesauce as well as the bananas
    ……do you think this recipe would be good to add one or two of these ingredients?

    • Good idea – sounds yummy. You could try, although I cannot guarantee if it would turn out okay as this bread is pretty moist to begin with. Never hurts to try though. Let me know what happens! πŸ™‚

  22. Thanks for sharing this recipe..this is by far the best banana bread recipe I’ve tried! I made an extra loaf and put it in the freezer and it is still super moist when eaten laster! I used brown sugar instead of white only because I was all out and it was great. I did have to bake this close to an hour vs the 40-45 mins. The outside was a little more well done than I would’ve liked. Not sure if I need to turn up the heat a little in my oven to not overcook the outside? Any suggestions?

    • Glad you enjoyed it. As for the exterior doneness, that sometimes happens to me. I’m not sure what to tell you. You could possibly place a piece of aluminum foil over the bread near the end of the bake time when the exterior has reached the browned color you want, then continue baking until the interior is done. Let me know if you figure out any tricks! πŸ™‚

  23. This is the best banana bread I have ever tasted!! It’s so moist. My new favorite! Thank u so much for sharing such a great recipe. I loved it so much I had to comment which I never do lol. I want to eat the whole thing.. Pretty dangerous hahah. Definitely πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ up

  24. This recipe makes 2 loaves? Are they small loaves? The ingredients don’t look that different than my other recipe that makes one loaf. Can’t wait to try it!

  25. I made this recipe yesterday, 11/15/15. I will be using only this recipe from now on!! Yummy! 🍣 I brought 2nd loaf to work today and everyone loved it! πŸ˜€

  26. This recipe is also the one my mother made. The only difference is she added 1 tsp. of vanilla. We also love to add 1/2 cup of nuts to ours. It freezes well to pull out later for unexpected company. I have seen lots of banana bread recipes, but never one exactly like I grew up on. Will always be our favorite.

  27. Amazing! Just made this today, really is the best banana bread I’ve ever made. I added some chocolate chips too and it turned out awesome! Thank you!

  28. I have an AMAZING banana bread recipe..somewhere. Through all the moving its MIA. This recipe is on point! I added cinnamon but that’s it! Highly recommend!

  29. This is the best banana bread recipe ever. Must be the ‘butter’, right? I will only use this recipe from now on (I have used it several times already and it gets eaten in a second!) I have also given loaves as gifts and have gotten nothing but compliments! Thank you so much for sharing!! ❀️

  30. I just used skim milk and no lemon juice or distilled white vinegar and it turned out great!! Very moist and spread some of that real butter on top, yummy!! Thanks Mrs. H!! I will be back for more of your delicious recipes.

  31. Pingback: Homemade Banana Bread | dazzle.glitter.glow

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

