Happy New Year and Christmas Round-up

Happy New Year to you and yours!

Ours was not the place to be for any big, wild celebrations. We did watch the ball drop last night, and I grabbed Mr. H for a smooch. Other than that, it was pretty low-key.

We did have our little guy turn 3 today.

DSC_1129

His party is happening Friday night, so more on that later.

We had a great Christmas. Hope you did too. It was extra-special for us this year with Mr. H having Christmas Day and the following two days off from work. The kids and I went over to my mom’s Christmas Eve for our annual family get-together. We always have fun together. We eat, we have the Christmas Play, we have the Yankee Swap and we do lots of talking and laughing.

Christmas morning was a happy one. Two nights before, Henry the Elf had written the kids a note letting them know that they had been pretty good, and that he wold tell Santa the good news. Santa pulled through with a unicorn for Norah and a train set for Garrett, plus some extra presents. The Elf and Santa story is fun, but the kids know who the gifts really come from because Norah was thanking us over and over again for each gift.

After opening presents and lounging around in the morning, we ate lunch, then headed over to Mr. H’s parents’ for the rest of Christmas Day, an overnight and most of the following day. The kids were home from college, and Dave and Susannah and Katie, and John and Erica were able to make it too. We missed the rest of the family who couldn’t make it. For those of of us who could though, there was lots of food and just sitting around, talking and playing games.

So there’s no New Year’s resolutions this year for me. I know I’m not going to keep them, so why set myself up for failure? ๐Ÿ™‚ Too bad I didn’t make a resolution for positivity – sounds like I’m nailing it. ๐Ÿ™‚ No, it’s not that I’m against New Year’s resolutions, and Lord knows it’s not like I don’t have things to work on, too many to number. Instead, I think I’ll just work on the needed improvements that I’m aware of throughout the year without formally announcing them. Maybe that way, I’ll trick myself into actually making some changes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Did you have a good Christmas and New Year’s? What are your resolutions?

Don't be shy. Tell me what's on your mind.

